The Trustees

The Scheme is run by six Trustee directors. Two Trustee directors have been nominated by Tata Steel UK, as the sponsor of the scheme, and two are Independent Trustee directors. Two Member Nominated Trustee directors have been selected from the ranks of the Scheme’s deferred pensioners and former-employee pensioners.

Keith Greenfield

Keith Greenfield (Chairman) - Independent Trustee director

Keith is a Chartered Accountant, who spent the majority of his working life in the Financial Services industry. He acted as the Finance Director of Royal Sun Alliance's Life business and then Managing Director when the business was transferred to Resolution plc. He has been a Final Salary DB pension Trustee for the Royal Insurance Group Pension Scheme for over 12 years, the last 10 as Chair of Trustees. He has also chaired the Pilkington Superannuation Scheme for the last 4 years. In addition he is an independent Trustee and Chair of the Investment committee of the Willis Pension Scheme.

Keith's term of appointment runs until 30 June 2022.

Catherine Claydon

Catherine Claydon - Independent Trustee director

Catherine has worked for over 30 years in the City, with most of her career at Goldman Sachs where she was a Managing Director in the Pensions Advisory Group. She is currently an Independent Director on the Barclays UK Retirement Fund, and Independent Member of the Unilever UK Pension Fund Investment Committee and was previously Deputy Chair of the BT Pension Fund. She is also a Non Executive Director of Witan Investment Trust and Dunedin Income Growth Investment Trust.

Catherine's term of appointment runs until 31 December 2023.

Shaun Corten

Shaun Corten - Member Nominated Trustee director

Shaun worked in the steel industry from 1974 until his retirement in 2009. He was a Member Nominated Trustee director of the British Steel Pension Scheme between 2002 and 2009. Shaun was again appointed to the Trustee board in 2013, this time as the Member Nominated Trustee director drawn from the ranks of former employee pensioners. He was also a member of the Investment Committee.

Shaun is also a non-executive director of the Gwent Hospitals Workmen's and Contributory Fund.

Shaun's term of appointment has been extended to 31 March 2022.

Barrie Evans - Member Nominated Trustee director

Barrie was appointed to the Trustee board as a Member Nominated Trustee director with effect from April 2019. He has been employed in the steel industry since 1995 and is based in Port Talbot Works. He is also Branch Secretary of the Community Union for Port Talbot.

Barrie's term of appointment runs until 31 March 2022.

Allan Johnston - Company Nominated Trustee director

Allan followed a career in the steel industry which culminated in him being an Executive Director of Corus Group Plc. Allan retired from this position in 2004, and until 2009, was HR Director for Avon and Somerset Constabulary. During this time he was the Association of Chief Police Officers' spokesperson on pensions.

Allan has also served as Chairman of the Trustees of the City and Guilds pension scheme, and is non-executive chairman of UK Steel Enterprise Ltd.

Allan was originally appointed to the British Steel Pension Scheme Trustee board in 1994 and served as Trustee Chairman from 2007 to March 2019. Allan was also a member of the Investment Committee and the Valuation and Covenant Committee.

Allan's term of appointment runs until 31 March 2022.

Matthew Wilson - Company Nominated Trustee director

Matt brings with him a wealth of experience over his 22 years of service in the steel industry since he joined British Steel as a graduate trainee in 1997.

Matt has served as a director of several boards associated with the company and is currently a Finance Director for Strip Products UK Hub. Matt is on the Trustee’s Audit and Risk Committee.

Matt's term of appointment runs until 31 October 2023.

Your session will expire in xx.xx. Do you wish to Continue or Log Out
Your session will expire in xx.xx
Continue or Log Out